Indiana Gamma Chapter - Awards
Our Mission
Photo Albums
Wabash College
Wabash College
       Interfraternity Council
Phi Kappa Psi


We are proud to have a 100% Senior Comps pass rate.

• Philanthropy Award

With tons of dedication, and time spent planning and crunching numbers, Jacob Scherb '14 revamped the philanthropy system not only for Phi Psi, but all of the other fraternities as well. Starting a weekly Philanthropy Chair meeting as well as embracing technology like Google Docs, the process was streamlined for cooperation and ease into bringing in new comittee chairs.  He was given the award in the college's annual Awards Chapel.

•  George Lewes Mackintosh Fellows: John Holmes

George Lewes Mackintosh Memorial Fund, established by the late James Putnam Goodrich in memory of the sixth president of the College, provides scholarships to six graduating seniors each year, without regard to need, who will be going on to graduate or professional schools. The recipients of the scholarships are designated as Mackintosh Fellows. Selection is made by a committee of the College upon departmental recommendations.

Kudlaty Senior Spanish Award: Stephen Abbott

The Kudlaty Award was established to honor and extend Professor Jack Kudlaty’s life-long commitment to teaching and scholarship in Spanish language and literature and is given to the outstanding Spanish major at Wabash.

Baldwin Prize in Oratory:  Samuel Prellwitz (2nd place)

The Baldwin Oratorical Contest is held each year and the prizes are awarded to three students who "compose and pronounce the best orations."

Ryan Champion Theater Performance Award: Matthew Goodrich

The Theater Prize is given to the student who, in the judgment of the theater department staff, has shown exceptional merit in his onstage production work. The criteria for the award include energy and commitment to high standards throughout the rehearsal process, artistic growth and excellence in performance.

•  Nicholas Harrison Essay Award: Derek Hickerson (1st)

Nicholas McCarty Harrison Essay Award is awarded to students who submit the best essays in the field of American studies.

• The Robert S. Harvey Journalism Award: Stephen Abbott, Patrick Griffith, and Jacob Stump

Robert S. Harvey Journalism Award, presented annually, on the vote of the Board of Publications, to the chair of the Board of Publications and the editors of the member publications. This award recognizes the fact that the editors, above all others, had to make a sacrifice to make the publications successful. Mr. Harvey ’28 taught English 1941-79, Librarian 1941-42, Acting Dean 1942-44, and Registrar 1946-72. He supervised the college News Bureau, ran the Board of Publications, wrote citations for alumni awards of merit, and became the college archivist.

-Stephen Abbott has also been elected to the Wabash College chapter of Phi Beta Kappa national honorary society. (The oldest American fraternity, Phi Beta Kappa was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776. The Wabash chapter, Beta of Indiana, was founded in 1898 and each year elects as members students of good moral character and exceptionally high academic accomplishment.)