Skip to Main Content

Homecoming 2022: A Good Time to Come Home

Alumni and friends were welcomed home this week as Wabash College celebrated Homecoming.

Chapel Sing 2021

The weekend opened Thursday with Chapel Sing, one of the College’s most cherished rites of passage in front of Pioneer Chapel. Members of the Class of 2026 were tested on their knowledge of the words to “Old Wabash,” arguably the nation’s longest fight song. Their mastery was rewarded with the “painting in flashing glory” of their shirts by the Sphinx Club.

The Sigma Chi pledge class captured the 2022 Chapel Sing competition.

The 42nd LaFollete Lecture was hosted Thursday in Salter Hall. This year’s lecturer was Professor of Classics Bronwen Wickkiser with her talk, “Embodied.” 

This lecture series was established by the Wabash College Board of Trustees to honor Charles D. LaFollette, their longtime colleague on the Board. A successful businessman, Mr. LaFollette was a devoted friend of the humanities and the arts. The LaFollette Lecture is given by a Wabash College faculty member who is charged to address the relation of his or her special discipline to the humanities, broadly conceived. 

The highlight Friday evening was the Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. This year’s Hall of Fame honorees were Nate Boulais ’03, Football; Chris Davis ’93, Diving; Joe DesJean ’03, Basketball; John Holm ’12, Baseball; Riley Lefever ’17, Wrestling; Conner Lefever ’16, Wrestling; Reece Lefever ’16, Wrestling; Mason Zurek ’16, Football; 2015 Wrestling Team.

Homecoming 2021Saturday’s festivities kicked off with the annual Alumni Chapel in Pioneer Chapel. Celebrated in the spirit of Barney Hollett ’36, Alumni Chapel represents the general meeting of the National Association of Wabash Men, and is the time Wabash sets aside to honor Wabash men and women for their contributions to the College and their communities.

Alumni Awards presented included: the Frank W. Misch Alumni Distinguished Service Award, Greg Estell ’85; Frederick J. Urbaska Distinguished Civic Service Award, Jim Williams ’88; Clarence A. Jackson Distinguished Career Achievement Award, Rick Sasso ’82; Jeremy R. Wright Young Alumnus Distinguished Service Award, Josh Owens ’07; Honorary Alumnae, Sherry Ross and Beth Swift; Admissions Fellow, Jake German ’11; and Career Services Fellow, Jake Koeneman ’06.

The Little Giants football team lost a down-to-wire battle with the Big Red of Denison. At halftime both the 2021-2022 basketball and wrestling teams were honored for successful seasons.

The weekend’s celebration closed with the Glee Club and Alumni Glee Club 130th Anniversary Concert and reception.

Back to Top