Skip to Main Content

2009 Journalism Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes

Director of Public Affairs Jim Amidon has announced the Robert S. Harvey Outstanding Editor Award, Robert S. Harvey Journalism Awards, and the Patterson-Goldberger Outstanding Freshman in Journalism Award at a recent Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel held at the College.

• The Robert S. Harvey Outstanding Editor Award: Patrick McAlister

• The Robert S. Harvey Journalism Award: Stephen Abbott, Ian Bonhotal, Joel Bustamante, Robert Fenoglio, Patrick Griffith, Alexander Ingram, Gary James, Bradley Jones, Brent Kent, Patrick McAlister, David Schrader, Jacob Stump, Charles Summers, Bradley Vest
Robert S. Harvey Journalism Award, presented annually, on the vote of the Board of Publications, to the chair of the Board of Publications and the editors of the member publications. This award recognizes the fact that the editors, above all others, had to make a sacrifice to make the publications successful. Mr. Harvey ’28 taught English 1941-79, Librarian 1941-42, Acting Dean 1942-44, and Registrar 1946-72. He supervised the college News Bureau, ran the Board of Publications, wrote citations for alumni awards of merit, and became the college archivist.

• Jim Leas Outstanding Student in Journalism: Gary James
Jim Leas Outstanding Student-in-Journalism Award, endowed by the Crawfordsville Journal-Review, is a cash award given to that student who, in the judgment of the Wabash College Board of Publications, best exemplifies those standards of journalistic excellence which Jim Leas demonstrated in his 20 years of sports writing.

The Patterson-Goldberger Outstanding Freshman in Journalism Award: Ian Bonhotal
The Freshman Journalism Award is presented to the member of the freshman class who contributed most significantly to journalism in his first year at Wabash.