Skip to Main Content

NAWM Honors Faculty/Staff for Years of Service


Long-serving Wabash College professors and professional staff members were honored during a Friday luncheon kicking off graduation weekend.

The National Association of Wabash Men sponsors the annual awards program. NAWM President Jay Fisher ’66 presided over the program. (Click here for photo album.)

The last word was given to President Andy Ford H’03 who Fisher introduced by expressing his pride in Ford’s achievements. "We challenged you to make Wabash stronger and you did it in every way," Fisher said.

Ford responded with a heartfelt thank you. "These have been special years and you (alumni, faculty and staff) are the people who’ve made it that way," Ford said. "Anne and I thank you very much."

The program began with Dean Raymond Williams recognizing retiring faculty members. Professor of History Jim Barnes H’91 was known "for his many paths around campus, through campus and his impact on the lives of students and faculty," Williams said.

Professor of Economics John Naylor was lauded for taking the department over during tough times following the death of Ben Rogge. Carl Thompson, Professor of Psychology, "has taught 60 percent of the Wabash men who graduated in his time here in Introduction to Psychology, so he’s had a profound impact on Wabash men," Williams said.

Director of the MXI Horace Turner H’76 was recognized for the way he had touched so many students’ lives academically and personally. Retiring librarian Larry Frye H’81 was feted for his leadership of the Lilly Library, leadership efforts in statewide library organizations and his significant community involvement.

Fisher then turned his attention to 16 members of the faculty and staff who have served 25 years or more at Wabash. The group represent a combined 485 years of experience.

Those honored: Phil Mikesell, Professor of Political Science, 40 years; Don Herring H’84, Professor of English, 35 years; Dwight Watson, Professor of Theater, 25 years; Mike Bachner '77, Bookstore Manager, 35 years; Peter Bankart, Professor of Psychology, 35 years; Leanah Brown, Admissions Data Coordinator, 25 years; Melissa Butler, Professor of Political Science, 30 years; Thomas Campbell, Professor of English, 30 years; Tobey Herzog, Professor of English, 30 years; Coach Robert Johnson H’77, 35 years; Alice Moore, Manager of Administrative Systems Services, 25 years; Cindy Munford, Biology Lab Manager, 25 years; John Naylor, Professor of Economics, 25 years; Mac Petty H’82, Head Basketball Coach and Golf Coach, 30 years; Sally Thompson, Assistant to the CFO and Director of Purchasing, 25 years; Horace Turner H’76, Director of MXI Institute, 35 years.

On homepage: Robert Boarman '08 presents Librarian Larry Frye with a gift for his years of service to APO.

Top left: Jay Fisher. Lower right: Dean Raymond Williams.