Skip to Main Content

Three Lilly Scholarship Winners Announced

Three outstanding applicants have been named Lilly Scholars, earning the College’s most prestigious scholarship.

Daniel Cuevas of Hammond, IN; William Osborn of Chandler, AZ; and Kaleb Wood of Indianapolis make up the Class of 2021 winners.

Finalists visited campus the weekend of Dec. 1-2 to compete for the scholarship. The Lilly Scholarship covers tuition, room and board for all four years of a student’s Wabash education. The scholarship program was established in 1974 to honor Eli Lilly and his family. The award is designed to recognize outstanding young men who show high potential and future promise. Honorees are young men who have the desire to impact the Wabash community and the world at large.

Daniel Cuevas.Cuevas is the son of Ignacio and Silvia Cuevas. He currently attends Bishop Noll Academy with future academic interests that include business, rhetoric, and political science. Cuevas is vice president of the Bishop Noll Senior Class, a member of the soccer team and marching band, and is close to becoming an Eagle Scout.

Osborn is the son of Matt and Susan Osborn. He currently attends the William Osborn.Arizona College Preparatory Academy’s Erie Campus with future academic interests that include pre-law, modern languages, and political science. Osborn is a National AP Scholar with Distinction award winner and is a member of the golf team, a program he helped form. Further, he acts as a student ambassador and orientation mentor, and has contributed more than 450 hours of volunteer service.

Kaleb Wood.Wood is the son of Thomas and Jennifer Wood. He currently attends Southport High School with future academic interests that include psychology and medicine. Wood is a member of the Southport High School’s marching band, and is the winter drumline captain and snare section leader, and serves as the VEX robotics team leader for the Southport Robotics Club.

The three Lilly Scholarship winners will join their 2021 classmates Aug. 19 for Freshman Saturday and the start of their Wabash careers.

Recent winners include:

Class of 2020: Sam Stephenson, Kaohsiung, Taiwan; Sam Henthorn, Carmel, IN; and Nathan Gray, Indianapolis.

Class of 2019: Matthew Hodges, Carmel, IN; David Vavrinak, Hubbard, OH; Cole Payne, Culver, IN.

Class of 2018 - Jacob Alaniz, Brownsville, TX; Joe Reilly, Noblesville, IN; Sam Surgalski, Traverse City, MI.

Class of 2017 - Cole Crouch, Indianapolis, IN; Kyle Stucker, Whiteland, IN; Jacob Budler, Parklands, South Africa.

Class of 2016 - Methuselah King, Chicago; Patrick Bryant, Carmel, IN; Alexander Hernandez, La Joya, TX.

Class of 2015 – Kristopher Nickle, Rockville, IN; Lucas Zromkoski, Valparaiso, IN; Edward Pingel, South Bend, IN.

Class of 2014 – Spencer Peters, Brookston, IN; Adam Barnes, Bradford, PA; Francisco Huerta, Chicago.

Class of 2013 – Riley Floyd, Noblesville, IN; Thomas Schmidt, Euless, TX; Liam Smith, Lawrence, KS.