30 Finalists Vie for Lilly Scholarship

April 11, 2013

Wabash College’s Lilly Award Program is underway with 30 finalists on campus through Saturday. The young men are undergoing interviews for a full room and board scholarship.

The Lilly Scholarship covers tuition, room and board for all four years of a student’s Wabash education.  The scholarship program was established in 1974 to honor Eli Lilly and his family. The award is designed to recognize outstanding young men who show potential. Honorees will be young men who can prove they will impact Wabash College and their community.

The young men will go through interviews throughout the day Friday after a welcoming banquet Thursday night. The keynote address will be given by Senior Director of Communications and Marketing, Secretary of Wabash College Jim Amidon ’87.

The students will enjoy an informal cookout at Caleb Mills House Friday evening then participate in faculty-led group discussions Saturday morning.

While many of the thirty are from Indiana, other locations represented are Georgia, Illinois, Massachusetts, Kentucky, California, Oregon and South Africa.

The 30 finalists are: Evan Bowe, Floyd Knobs, In.; Jake Budler, Parklands, South Africa; Eric Burgess, Westwood, MA.; Polo Burguete, Culver, IN.; Matthew Coscia, Zionsville, IN.; Ben Cramer, Shipshewana, IN.; Bobby Cramer, South Bend, IN.; Cole Crouch, Indianapolis, IN.; Austin Dukes, Kokomo, IN.; Luke Durell, Indianapolis, IN.; Max Earp-Thomas, Eugene, OR.; Isaac Empson, Peoria, IL.; John Hornak, Richmond, IN.; Alex Leer, Arcadia, IN.; Nathan Manworren, Westfield, IN.; Jusin Miller, Saint Joe, IN.; Fortino Noveron, Santa Ana, CA.; Nick Peterson, Indianapolis, IN.; Andrew Powell, Zionsville, IN.; David Rico, Chicago, IL.; Andrew Roginski, Lafayette, IN.; Bailey Ross, Madison, GA.; Kyle Stucker, Franklin, IN.; Jimmy Suess, Indianapolis, IN.; Daniel Thompson, Jeffersonville, IN.; Jacob VanWassenhove, Indianapolis, IN.; Benjamin Wade, Clayton, IN.; Benjamen Washer, Crawfordsville, IN.; Rory Willats, Columbus, IN.; Alex Wimber, Henderson, KY.

The scholarship selection committee is: Professor of Religion Jonathan Baer, Dudley Burgess ’64, Asst. Prof. of Economics Christie Byun, Eric Cavanaugh ’76, Prof. of Chemistry Richard Dallinger, Asst. Prof. of Rhetoric Sara Drury, Art Howe ’82, Larry Hutchison ’63, Asst. Prof. of Chemistry Walter Novak, Asst. Prof. of Psychology Eric Olofson, Jeffrey Perkins ’89, Dean of the College Gary Phillips, Dean of Students Mike Raters ’85, Dean of Advancement Jonathan Stern, Daniel Taylor ’83.

Recent past winners include:

Class of 2016 -  Methuselah King, Chicago, Patric Frankoviak Bryant, Carmel, IN., Alexander Hernandez, La Joya, Texas.

Class of 2015 – Kristopher Nickle, Rockville; Lucas Zromkoski, Valparaiso, Edward Pingel, South Bend

Class of 2014 – Spencer Peters, Brookston, Adam Barnes, Bradford, Pa.; Francisco Huerta, Chicago, Ill.

Class of 2013 – Riley Floyd, Noblesville, Thomas Schmidt, Euless, Tx., Liam Smith, Lawrence, Ka.


Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100