Eight Inducted in Athletics Hall of Fame

by Jim Amidon

November 8, 2012

Seven Wabash College alumni and a former president were inducted into the Wabash College Athletics Hall of Fame during ceremonies during Monon Bell Weekend.

Chris Morris ’04The induction ceremony is a highlight for the National Association of Wabash Men, which enshrines new members every two years on the eve of the Monon Bell Classic. The Hall of Fame was established in 1982.

"Athletics has always been an important part of the Wabash culture," said Alumni Director Tom Runge ’71. "I'm always impressed with the number of our alumni who have fond memories of their experiences as student-athletes, and even more with their careers after Wabash. The Hall of Fame allows us to celebrate their accomplishments and allows the alumni to recall their time at Wabash, which makes for a special combination."

This year’s inductees included:

Chris Morris ’04 in football. Morris was Wabash’s all-time leading rusher with 3,247 career yards and 40 touchdowns. He set the single-season rushing record in 2002 when he ran for 1,497 yards in helping Wabash to a 12-1 record and undefeated regular season.

Glenn Pride ’63 in track and field. Pride was a four-year letterman in track and field and was the finest hurdler of his era. He set school records in hurdle and relay events, was the Indiana Little State champion, and was an All-American hurdler in his senior season.

Tom Quackenbush ’88Tom Puschak ’89 in track and field. Puschak was Wabash’s second individual national champion in track and field when he won the hammer throw at the 1989 Outdoor National Championships. He was also an Indoor Track and Field All-American with a fourth place finish in the 35-pound weight throw.

Tom Quackenbush ’88 in baseball. Quackenbush started throughout his four years in baseball, and was a three-year starting catcher for the Little Giants. He was twice named the team’s MVP when he set single-season RBI records, and he was the Co-MVP of the Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference in 1988.

Jonathan Turk ’93 in swimming. Jonathan Turk was a four-year letterman whose teams never lost a dual meet throughout his entire career. He was a four-time All-American butterfly swimmer, a First Team Academic All-American, and received an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

Steve Turk ’91 in swimming. Steve Turk was the best sprint butterfly swimmer of his era. He was a two-time Most Valuable Swimmer, two-time team captain, and four-time All-American. He was also named to the Academic All-District Team.

Steve Turk ’91Jim Wadkins ’84 in wrestling. Jim Wadkins was a four-year letterman who helped Wabash post a record of 75-3 in dual meets. He was a three-time Little State Champion who finished his career with an individual record of 69-13-1, which included a win in the final match of the night to secure a victory over Notre Dame. He was the 1984 team captain and Most Valuable Wrestler.

Andrew T. Ford H’03, Special Inductee. Dr. Andrew T. Ford served as President of Wabash College for 13 years. A staunch supporter of the Little Giants, he spearheaded Wabash’s move into the North Coast Athletic Conference. He was also instrumental in the construction of the Allen Athletics and Recreation Center.


Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100