Three Named 2016 Lilly Scholars

May 2, 2012

Wabash College has awarded three incoming high school seniors full-ride Lilly Scholarships. The three young men from Illinois, Texas, and Indiana receive a tuition, fees, room and board scholarship estimated to value $170,000 over four years.

The three students were part of Lilly Scholars weekend April 13-14 with 27 other hopefuls. Students participate in interviews and a group discussion classroom setting to determine the winners.

The 2016 Lilly scholars are Methuselah King Gee, Chicago, Patrick Frankoviak Bryant, Carmel, IN., and Alexander Hernandez, La Joya, Texas.

Gee attends Kenwood Academy in Chicago. He is a member of Model UN, president of the Africa Club, Soccer team captain, election judge for the Chicago Board of Elections, and founder of VOICE (giving students a voice in student council.)

Bryant is a senior at Carmel High School. He is a member of the High School Senate, National Honor Society, Principal’s Advisory Council, plays clarinet in Band and Wind Symphony. He received the Indiana High School Press Association Harvey Award in 2011, was a delegate to Hoosier Boys State, and is a St. Vincent Hospital Volunteer.

Hernandez attends La Joya High School in La Joya, Tx. He founded the Sign Language Club, organized the first La Joya Fall Festival, member of the swim team, member of Texas Lorenzo de Zavala national Hispanic Institute, and participated in Rio Grande’s Relay for Life.


Previous Lilly Scholar winners:

Class of 2015 – Kristopher Nickle, Rockville; Lucas Zromkoski, Valparaiso, Edward Pingel, South Bend

Class of 2014 – Spencer Peters, Brookston, Adam Barnes, Bradford, Pa; Francisco Huerta, Chicago.

Class of 2013 – Riley Floyd, Noblesville, Thomas Schmidt, Euless, Tx., Liam Smith, Lawrence, Ka.



Wabash College • P.O. Box 352 • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100