Science Department (Division I) Names Honorees at Annual Awards Chapel

by Karen Handley

May 4, 2010

Division I (The Sciences) has announced the following awards given at a recent Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel held at the College.
The awards and their recipients are:
• Norman E. Treves Science Award: Brandon Hirsch
Established by Dr. Norman E. Treves, a 1915 Wabash graduate, the Treves award is given to a senior concentrating in Division I (biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics) who has shown the greatest progress academically and as an individual during his junior year.
• Ernest G. Carscallen Prize in Biology: Jacob N. Grow
The Ernest Carscallen Prize was created by Professor and Mrs. George C. Carscallen in memory of their son. The cash prize is awarded to an outstanding biology major in the senior class.
• Eliot Churchill Williams Undergraduate Prize in Biology: Justin D. Allen
The Williams Prize is in memory of Professor Williams who served the College and the Biology Department from 1948 to 1983. It is awarded to an undergraduate student who is majoring in biology.
• Edgar C. Britton Memorial Award in Chemistry: Xingcheng Liu
The Edgar C. Britton Memorial Award in Chemistry is a cash prize presented to a senior chemistry major selected by the faculty for his promise in graduate study. It was established in memory of Edgar C. Britton, who attended Wabash as a member of the Class of 1915.
• Howell Chemistry Award: Seth A. Bawel, Lucas B. Evans, and Zeyu Lu
The Howell Chemistry Award, established in 1948 by former students of Dr. L.B. Howell and his wife, the scholarship is awarded to an upper class chemistry major.
• Underwood Award in Chemistry: Austin K. Drake and Nathan J. Line
Established by J.E. Underwood, Jr. in memory of his father, a 1911 Wabash graduate, the Underwood Award is a cash prize that is presented to the junior chemistry major who, in the opinion of the department, is most deserving.
• George E. Carscallen Prize in Mathematics: Andrew J. Hoffman and Dezhi Xu
The George E. Carscallen Prize was named in memory of Professor Carscallen, who taught mathematics at Wabash nearly 40 years, the cash prize is awarded to an outstanding mathematics major in the senior class.
• J. Crawford Polley Mathematical Writing Prize; Derrek J. D. Yager
The J. Crawford Polley Prize in Mathematics is offered annually by the mathematics department for
meritorious work by a student in mathematical writing and problem solving. The prize honors J.
Crawford Polley H’33, who was professor of mathematics at Wabash from 1929-1966. Work considered for the prize includes short articles and interesting problems with elegant solutions.
• Harold Q Fuller Prize in Physics: Lucian W. Lupinski
The Fuller Prize in Physics was established in 1979 by Harold Q Fuller, a 1928 Wabash graduate, the award goes to the junior physics major who is judged by the physics department faculty to be most worthy.
• Physics Department Writing Prize: Lucian W. Lupinski
The Physics Department Writing Prize is an award established by the physics department to encourage and reward quality writing in physics. It will be given to the physics student who, in the judgment of the physics department, has written a paper on original experimental or theoretical work that demonstrates the highest standards of scientific writing. The prize will be a physics book selected by the department, and the student’s name will be added to a plaque displayed in Goodrich Hall.
•  Thomas A. Cole Biology Alumni Prize: Maurice T. Raycroft
The prize is in memory of Thomas A. Cole and his encouragement of research by Wabash graduates. The prize is awarded to a graduate who is involved in further study in the area(s) of biology, environmental science, or medicine. 

The Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel is held every year at Wabash to honor students with awards and prizes for their outstanding work they have demonstrated throughout their college years. 


Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100