2009 Division III Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes

by Karen Handley

May 1, 2009

Division III (The Social Sciences) has announced the following awards given at a recent Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel held at the College.

The awards and their recipients are:

• George D. Lovell Award: Dezhi Xu
The George D. Lovell Award is presented to a junior or senior majoring in social studies. Established in 1986 by family, friends, colleagues and former students of Dr. Lovell, long-time chairman of the Psychology Department and Beesley Distinguished Professor at Wabash. The recipient is chosen by the chairman of Division III and the dean of students, with preference given to a student of racial or ethnic minority.

• Distinguished Senior in Psychology: David Braitman
The Distinguished Senior in Psychology Award is given to the senior psychology major who best represents the department's ideal for outstanding research, scholarship and service.

Wall Street Journal Award: Collin Smith
The Wall Street Journal Award is presented to the senior economics major who has exhibited the best analytical ability in his major field, the award consists of a one year subscription to the Wall Street Journal and an engraved paperweight.

• Schmutte Award for Outstanding Economics Paper: James Horrey and Steven Stambaugh
The Schmutte prize is awarded to the student paper which, in the judgment of the department, best reflects the qualities of cognet analysis and clarity of exposition which were the hallmarks of Stephen Schmutte, a dedicated and very effective teacher in the department since 1968.

• Warren Shearer Prize in Economics: Khondoker Haider
The Shearer Prize was established to recognize the contributions made by Warren Wright Shearer during his long years of service to Wabash as an economist and a teacher of economics, it is presented to a member of the junior class who, by vote of the faculty of the economics department, has the best command of economic theory.

• Benjamin A. Rogge Memorial Award: Bradley Armstrong and John Holmes
The Rogge Award is awarded to the academically outstanding member of the senior class who best articulates the free-market philosophy and ideals of Ben Rogge,

• American Legion Byron Cox Post 72 Theodore G. Gronert Scholarship: Aaron Summers
The Gronert Award is presented by the American Legion Byron Cox Post No. 72, in memory of Dr. Theodore Gronert, a long-time professor of history at Wabash and a former post commander. The award is given to the senior who had demonstrated excellence in the study of United States history and government.

• John F. Charles World History Prize: Daniel DeNormandie
The John F. Charles Prize is awarded to the senior history major who is considered most outstanding in a field or fields of history other than American. It is presented by the History Department of the College in honor of their friend and colleague, John F. Charles.

•  Nicholas Harrison Essay Award: Derek Hickerson (1st), Zachary Lowry (3rd), Timothy Markey (3rd)
Nicholas McCarty Harrison Essay Award is awarded to students who submit the best essays in the field of American studies.

• F. Michael Cassel Political Science Award: Aaron Bonar
The Cassel Award is made to a senior for graduate study in political science.

• George A. Lipsky Award in Political Science: James Horrey
The Lipsky Award is named for a former chairman of the political science department at Wabash, the award is based on a student's breadth of learning within the liberal arts curriculum, his commitment of human and civilized values and his ability to analyze and evaluate contemporary social issues.

• Waldo Stephens Scholarship: Aaron Bonar
The Waldo Stephens Scholarship was established in memory of Dr. Waldo Stephens and awarded annually to a junior who plans a career of government service.

• N. Ryan Shaw II Political Science Award: Sean Clerget
The Shaw award, a Wabash captain's chair, is presented to the senior chosen by the political science department as the department's outstanding major. The award is in memory of the late Mary J. Shaw's husband, Wabash class of 1953.

• William Nelson White Scholarship: Jonathon Edwards
The White Scholarship Award is given to a senior selected by the college on the basis of scholarship, personal integrity, and an understanding of the professional requirements of the practice of law.

• Daniels Prize in Constitutional Law: Neil Cook
The Daniels Award is given to the student whose paper provides the most effective understanding and evaluation of the philosophical bases on which the Anglo American legal order is constructed. It was established in 1974 by Katherine D. Kane in memory of her father.

• Caleb Mills Teacher-in-Training Excellence Award: Cary Pruett and Daniel Schwanekamp
The Caleb Mills Teacher-in-Training Award honors the memory of the founder of the public school system, Caleb Mills. It is awarded to a member of the graduating class whose achievement and contribution to teacher education and student teaching have been the most distinguished.


Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100