2009 Division II Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes

by Karen Handley

May 1, 2009

Division II (The Humanities and Fine Arts) have announced the following awards given at a recent Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel held at the College.

The awards and their recipients are:

Paul J. Husting Art Award: Jay Roudebush
The Husting Art Award is given annually to the art major who, in the judgment of the Art Department, has accomplished distinguished work in art. The award was established in 1983 in memory of Paul Husting, Class of 1937, by his daughters Betsy Husting and Suzanne Husting Phillips and friends of Paul Husting.

• Greene Art History Award: Juan Cricco

Randolph H. Deer Outstanding and Continued Work in Art: Aaron Cant and Korey Pazour
The Deer Prize is made possible by a gift from Randolph H. Deer. The prize is set up to reward and encourage art majors for exceptional work during their freshman and sophomore years. The recipients are selected by the Art Department faculty based on their achievements in the art department. The prize will be awarded in two installments: half before the junior year, and renewable before the senior year.

Ruth Margaret Farber Award in English: Michael Wartman?
The Farber Award was created by John Farber, a 1915 Wabash graduate, in honor of his mother, the award goes to the member of the junior class who has shown the most promise as a student of English and American literature.

Walter L. Fertig Prize in English: Jeremy DeFatta and Michael Wartman
The Walter L. Fertig Prize in English is given to a member of the senior class who, in the judgement of the English Department, has accomplished distinguished work in his study of English and American literature.

Robert S. Edwards Award in Creative Writing: Neil Cook
Robert S. Edwards Creative Writing Award, a memorial to Robert S. Edwards, Class of 1943, in recognition of his deep faith in the power of language—especially the written word. This cash gift is given annually to that member of the junior or senior class who demonstrates the greatest skill and originality in creative writing in a course offered by the English Department.

Ruth Margaret Farber Award in English: Joel Harker
Ruth Margaret Farber Award in English, made each year from a fund established by John Farber, Class of 1915, of New York in honor of his mother, whose keen intellect, sound judgment, and generous hospitality made her home in Mills Place a beloved second home for students and faculty. The award goes to that member of the junior class who has shown the most promise as a student of English or American literature.

Robert O. Petty Nature Writing Prize: Jeremy DeFatta
The Robert O. Petty Prize in Writing, established by Dr. W. Franklin Harris (Class of 1964) in memory of Dr. Petty, Professor of Biology at Wabash from 1959-1990, is given annually to encourage and recognize student writing that draws on the fertile boundary of the sciences and the humanities. An ecologist, as well as a poet and nature writer, Professor Petty held that "only at the margins of knowledge can we discover some essential, critical perspective of the field we labor in, and come to a better definition of what lies at the center..." His quest for a truer perception of our place in nature and nature’s place in us was what mattered most.

Robert A. King German Prize: Neil Cook and Michal Opieczonek
The Robert King Prize is given to student of the graduating class who has an exceptionally fine record in German and who will continue his education after graduation from Wabash. The prize was established to honor the memory of Professor King, who as a teacher and registrar served the College from 1891 to 1919.

Kudlaty Senior Spanish Award: Stephen Abbott
The Kudlaty Award was established to honor and extend Professor Jack Kudlaty’s life-long commitment to teaching and scholarship in Spanish language and literature and is given to the outstanding Spanish major at Wabash.

Annie Crim Leavenworth French Prize: Seth Einterz
Annie Crim Leavenworth French Prize, presented annually to a student of French who demonstrates exceptional dedication to French language, literature, and culture. Named for Annie Crim Leavenworth, the first woman to hold the rank of Assistant Professor and one of the first French professors at Wabash College.

John N. Mills Prize in Religion: Kevin Andrews (1st), David Haggard (1st) Craig Cochran (2nd), and John Torma (3rd)?
The Mills Prize is awarded to three students who have done excellent work in religion courses, including courses in the Bible, in the Department of Religion

John N. Mills Fellowship in Religion: Tyler Gibson, Brock Graham, Royce Gregerson, Richard Hogue
John N. Mills Fellowship, an award to be used for graduate study, made to a senior who has done excellent work in the Department of Religion.

Baldwin Prize in Oratory: Stephen Maynard (1st), Samuel Prellwitz (2nd), James Nossett (3rd)?
The Baldwin Oratorical Contest is held each year and the prizes are awarded to three students who "compose and pronounce the best orations."

Joseph O’Rourke, Jr. Award in Speech: Grant Gussman
The O'Rourke, Jr. Prize was established by the family of long-time speech professor Joseph O'Rourke, Jr., the prize is awarded annually to the student with the best Senior Project in the Speech Department.

Ryan Champion Theater Performance Award: Matthew Goodrich
The Theater Prize is given to the student who, in the judgment of the theater department staff, has shown exceptional merit in his onstage production work. The criteria for the award include energy and commitment to high standards throughout the rehearsal process, artistic growth and excellence in performance.

Kloth Design and Technical Theater Award: Anthony Morton
The Kloth Award, presented to the Wabash student who, in the opinion of the Theater Department faculty and staff, has done outstanding work in the areas of scenic or costume design or technical theater.

Erminie Leonardis Theater History Award: Adam Phipp
The Leonardis Theater History Award is presented to a student who, in the estimation of the Theater Department faculty, has done outstanding work in the study of theater history, dramatic literature or criticism.

•  R. Robert Mitchum Glee Club Leadership Award: Justin Bilby
The Mitchum Award is given to a member of the Glee Club who, in the judgment of the Director, demonstrates leadership qualities in the efforts of the Glee Club. The award is derived from the R. Robert Mitchum Glee Club Endowment established by former Glee Club members to remember his great contributions to the Wabash Glee Club. Robert Mitchum H’59 served as Director of the Glee Club for twenty-two years starting in 1947.

The Glee Club Senior Award: Justin Bilby, Jay Brouwer, Royce Gregerson, Thomas Pizarek
The Glee Club Senior Award is presented to a student or students who has made the most valuable contribution of effort and talent to the group.

Lewis Catuogno Jr. Piano Prize: Tian Tian
The Louis Catuogno Prize in Piano, made possible by a gift from Mrs. Edward McLean in memory of her brother who was chairman of the Department of Piano at Texas Technological University at Lubbock, Texas, is awarded to that student who, in the estimation of the chair of the Music Department at Wabash College, demonstrates ability and appreciation of piano as a medium of musical expression.

J. Harry Cotton Philosophy Prize: Nathaniel Rutz
J. Harry Cotton Prize in Philosophy, given to that student judged by the Philosophy Department to have done the best work in philosophy during the year.


Wabash College • P.O. Box 352 • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100