Eight to be Inducted in Athletics Hall of Fame

by Jim Amidon

November 6, 2008

The National Association of Wabash Men will induct seven alumni and a long-time football coach into the Wabash College Athletics Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will take place on Friday, November 14 on the eve of the 115th Monon Bell Classic.

This year's inductees include:

Kent Baker ’93 — Kent Baker was an All-American in cross country, finishing fifth at the 1992 National Championships — the highest individual finish for a Wabash cross country runner — and the team finished sixth that year in Saratoga Springs, NY. He was a four-year letterman in cross country and track. He was a three-time All-Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference standout in cross country, winning the league championship in his senior year and helping Wabash win three straight GLCA Championships. He also captured outdoor ICAC track titles in the 1,500 (1991) and the 10,000 meters (1993), and led Wabash to back-to-back ICAC Team Championships in 1992 and 1993. He was a national qualifier in indoor and outdoor track and field. He was named MVP in cross country in 1990 and 1992, and was the 1993 track team MVP. He was named Academic All-Conference, was a GTE/CoSIDA Second Team Academic All-American, and won the Pete Vaughan Award. Earned a Ph.D. from Northwestern University.

Jim Cumming ’61 — Jim Cumming was a three-year starting center on teams that made the NCAA Tournament all three years (and that included Hall of Famers Charlie Bowerman and Tom Bennett). He led Wabash in rebounding in 1960 and 1961, averaging 11.7 and 11.2 rebounds per game, respectively, in those seasons. The 11.7 average is the fourth best in a season. He ranks ninth all-time with 538 boards in 64 career games. His 23 rebounds vs. Illinois Tech in Chicago on January 19, 1960 is the Wabash single-game record.

Kelley House ’90 — Kelley House is long remembered for blocking a punt in the 1986 Bell game that set up the 17-point, fourth-quarter comeback by the Little Giants, who beat DePauw 24-23. House was a four-year football letterman and three-year starting defensive back. As a baseball player, he was the Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference Co-Player of the Year in baseball in 1988 when he made the All-ICAC team as first baseman and left handed pitcher. He was also named First Team All-ICAC in 1989 and 1990. As a hitter, House had 124 career hits and drove in 74 runs. He had a career pitching record of 23-12 in 51 appearances with eight career saves in 240.3 innings pitched (third most all-time). He struck out 226 batters, which is the second most ever at Wabash.

Dave Husted ’69 — Dave Husted was a three-year letterman, team captain, and MVP of the wrestling team who posted a 46-4-3 record at heavyweight. He was also a three-year football letterman who earned a professional tryout with the Oakland Raiders. He was the 1969 Pete Vaughan Award winner.

Jake Knott ’03 — Jake Knott was a four-year starting quarterback for the Little Giants and served as co-captain as a senior. He was named a Third Team Hewlett Packard All-American following the 2002 season, a year in which he was named the North Coast Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year. He led Wabash to a 12-1 season and trip to the NCAA Division III Quarterfinals in 2002; that team won for Wabash its first NCAC championship. He was the team’s Most Valuable Player as a senior after throwing for 2,954 yards and 35 touchdowns. He owns a dozen or more Wabash records, including career passing (11,213), career total offense (12,054), and career passing touchdowns (116). He was also a three-year letterman on the Wabash baseball team.

Dave Moore ’69 — Dave Moore ranks 12th all-time in basketball scoring with 1,159 points in 60 career games. He was a three-year letterman and MVP in 1969. Twice he led Wabash in scoring, averaging 22.3 points per game in the ’67-68 season and 24.6 points per game in the ’68-69 season. Moore owns the third highest career scoring average (19.3 ppg) and his 24.6 ppg average in 1968-69 was fifth best all-time.

Ryan Short ’03 — Ryan Short was a four-year letterman, who earned All-America honors in both his junior and senior football seasons. He was a consensus AFCA First Team Division III All-American in 2002 and was a Third Team Little All-American (NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA). He led the Little Giants in receptions in both 2001 (73 for 901 yards, 13 TDs) and 2002 (71 for 705 yards, 17 TDs), and led Wabash in scoring in the 2000 (80 points) and 2001 (78 points) seasons. He is Wabash’s career leader with 243 receptions and 45 touchdown receptions; his 2,773 receiving yards ranks third all-time. He also caught at least one pass in 37 straight games (a Wabash record) and his 220 receiving yards vs. Denison (2000) is the second best ever in a single game. He caught four touchdown passes in the first half of the 2002 Monon Bell Game. As a basketball player, Short was a four-year letterman and served as a co-captain in his junior and senior seasons. He started 53 of 82 career games and averaged 7.7 points and 4.4 rebounds. As a junior, he averaged 11.3 points and 5.0 rebounds per game.

Greg Carlson — Greg Carlson was an18-year head football coach at Wabash College, leading the Little Giants from 1983 through 2000. He ranks second all-time in football coaching victories with 112, trailing only the legendary Pete Vaughan. Carlson led Wabash to Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference championships in 1991, 1992, and 1994, and the led Wabash to the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference championships in 1998. He posted a career record of 112-57-2 (.655) over 18 seasons and 171 games. He coached 23 All-Americans or Academic All-Americans. Among his highlight victories were: a 45-20 win over Taylor in the first-ever college football game played at the then-Hoosier Dome; a 28-8 victory over DePauw in 1985 that knocked the Tigers from the playoffs; a 40-26 win over DePauw in the 100th Monon Bell Classic; and a 28-24 win over the Tigers in 1994, a game televised on ESPN2.


Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100