Annual Alumni Game to Be Played on Saturday

by Karen Handley

February 16, 2005

Get directions to Wabash College Allen Athletics and Recreation Center

The annual Wabash College alumni basketball game is scheduled for February 19 in Chadwick Court prior to the varsity contest against Kenyon. Eighteen former players, including three former All-Americans, will return to campus to play against the Wabash College junior varsity team.

Participating in the alumni game includes: Pete Metzelaars '82, Beau Barrett ’98, Chuck Betz ’70, Brett Butler ’90, Kip Chase ’03, Brady Claxton ’03, Mike Crnkovich ’93, Joe DesJean ’03, Josh Estelle ’00, Chris Jones ’04, Jim McCall ’99, Drew Northern ’89, Seth Northern ’93, Chris Schrepferman ’91, Ryan Short ’03, Paul Smith ’74, Bodie Stegelmann ’87, and Chad Tabor ’99.

Metzelaars earned National Player of the Year honors after leading the Little Giants to the NCAA Division III men's basketball title in 1982. He was a two-time All-American in basketball before moving on to a 16-year career in the NFL as a tight end with the Seattle Seahawks, Buffalo Bills, Carolina Panthers, and Detroit Lions.

Estelle, the all-time leading scorer in Wabash basketball history with 2,065 points, was a three-time All-American and First Team Academic All-American. Chad Tabor, part of the "New Castle Connection," earned All-America honors in 1997 while leading the Little Giants to the NCAA tournament.

Five of the six all-time leading scorers in Wabash history are scheduled to return to action. Estelle, Metzelaars, Tabor, Crnkovich, and DesJean all tallied more than 1,500 points in their careers.

Tipoff of the alumni game is scheduled for 1 p.m. with the varsity game beginning at 3 p.m. Watch the Little Giants in their season finale as they battle Kenyon in a NCAC matchup. Admission to both games are free.


Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100