Three Win Lilly Scholarships

by Howard Hewitt

May 6, 2016

Three incoming freshmen, two Hoosiers and a Taiwanese student, have been named 2016 Lilly Scholars.

Finalists visited campus the weekend of April 8-9 to compete for Wabash’s most-prestigious scholarship award. The Lilly Scholarship covers tuition, room and board for all four years of a student’s Wabash education. The scholarship program was established in 1974 to honor Eli Lilly and his family. The award is designed to recognize outstanding young men who show high potential and future promise. Honorees will be young men who have the desire to impact Wabash College and the community.

The Class of 2020 winners are Sam Stephenson, Kaohsiung, Taiwan; Sam Henthorn, Carmel, IN; and Nathan Gray, Indianapolis.

StephensonStephenson is the son of John Stephenson and Mei Lien Hu. He attended the Morrison Academy and hopes to be a teacher or education administrator. Stephenson helped start a Big Brothers/Big Sisters program for children of incarcerated or deceased parents. He also was a member of the school’s Science Club and played volleyball, soccer, and basketball.

HenthornHenthorn is the son of Douglas and Kelly Henthorn and a graduate of Westfield High School with hopes of becoming a doctor. He has participated in cross country and track, rock climbing, and student athletic board. Sam’s grandfather, Rex ’59, and uncles, Tom '75 and Dave '95, make him a Wabash legacy.

GrayGray is the son of Todd and Christina Gray. Nathan attended Cathedral High School where he competed in National Speech and Debate, served as a class officer, participated in rock climbing, theater/drama, Math League, and was an active member of St. Pius X Parish.

The three Lilly Scholarship winners will join their 2020 classmates Aug. 20 for Freshman Saturday and the start of their Wabash careers.

Recent winners include:

Class of 2019: Matthew Hodges, Carmel, IN; David Vavrinak, Hubbard, OH; Cole Payne, Culver, IN.

Class of 2018 - Jacob Alaniz, Brownsville, TX; Joe Reilly, Noblesville, IN; Sam Surgalski, Traverse City, MI.

Class of 2017 - Cole Crouch, Indianapolis, IN; Kyle Stucker, Whiteland, IN; Jacob Budler, Parklands, South Africa.

Class of 2016 - Methuselah King, Chicago; Patrick Bryant, Carmel, IN; Alexander Hernandez, La Joya, TX.

Class of 2015 – Kristopher Nickle, Rockville, IN; Lucas Zromkoski, Valparaiso, IN; Edward Pingel, South Bend, IN.

Class of 2014 – Spencer Peters, Brookston, IN; Adam Barnes, Bradford, PA; Francisco Huerta, Chicago.

Class of 2013 – Riley Floyd, Noblesville, IN; Thomas Schmidt, Euless, TX; Liam Smith, Lawrence, KS.


Wabash College • P.O. Box 352 • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100