2018 Lilly Winners Announced

May 27, 2014

Young men from South Texas, Central Indiana, and northern Michigan are the Class of 2018 Lilly Scholarship winners.

Jacob Alaniz, Brownsville, TX, Joe Reilly, Noblesville, IN, and Samuel Surgalski, Traverse City, MI, have been named winners of the annual full-ride scholarship.

The annual Lilly Awards Program, held April 11-12, honors Indiana’s Lilly Family. It was established in 1974. The program recognizes outstanding young men who show high potential for leadership and the ability to have an impact on Wabash College and their community.

The Lilly Award is Wabash’s most-prestigious scholarship and renewable annually. It covers tuition, fees, and room and board. The value over a four-year period exceeds $170,000.

AlanizAlaniz graduated from Veterans Memorial High School at Brownsville, TX, He served as President of the National Honor Society and Student Council. Alaniz won several academic awards and has been active in several philanthropic programs.

The Texas teen was inducted into the National Hispanic Scholar Recognition Program, making him one of only 5,000 nationwide.

ReillyReilly graduated from Noblesville High School this spring. Reilly was President of his school’s Sociology Club, co-captain of the speech team, member of the National Honor Society, and an Eagle Scout.

He has served as an active member of Teen Leaders in Action of Promising Futures of Central Indiana. He was an active member of that group fund raising and in grant writing.

SurgaliskiSurgalski graduated from Saint Francis High School in Traverse City, MI. He was president of the National Honor society, wrestling team captain and member of the marching band. He plays piano and trombone. He started his own small engine repair business when he was 15.

The Michigan teen is a former Wabash OLAB participant and high school class officer.

The three Lilly Scholars will join other members of the Class of 2018 Saturday, August 23 for Freshman Saturday to begin their Wabash College experience.

Past Lilly Winners:

Class of 2017 – Cole Crouch, Indianapolis, IN; Kyle Stucker, Whiteland,IN; Jacob Budler, Parklands, South Africa.

Class of 2016 - Methuselah King, Chicago,IL; Patrick Frankoviak Bryant, Carmel, IN; Alexander Hernandez, La Joya, Texas.

Class of 2015 – Kristopher Nickle, Rockville, IN; Lucas Zromkoski, Valparaiso, IN; Edward Pingel, South Bend



Wabash College • 301 W Wabash Ave • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100