Division I: Science Department Names Honorees at Annual Awards Chapel

Division I (The Sciences) has announced the following awards given at a recent Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel held at the College.

The awards and their recipients are:

Norman E. Treves Science Award: Joshua Weaver

Established by Dr. Norman E. Treves, a 1915 Wabash graduate, the Treves award is given to a senior concentrating in Division I (biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics) who has shown the greatest progress academically and as an individual during his junior year.

Ernest G. Carscallen Prize in Biology: Brandon J. Hayes

The Ernest Carscallen Prize was created by Professor and Mrs. George C. Carscallen in memory of their son. The cash prize is awarded to an outstanding biology major in the senior class.

Eliot Churchill Williams Undergraduate Prize in Biology: Ryan S. Worley and Daniel A. Yelfimov

The Williams Prize is in memory of Professor Williams who served the College and the Biology Department from 1948 to 1983. It is awarded to an undergraduate student who is majoring in biology.

Edgar C. Britton Memorial Award in Chemistry: John M. Dustman

The Edgar C. Britton Memorial Award in Chemistry is a cash prize presented to a senior chemistry major selected by the faculty for his promise in graduate study. It was established in memory of Edgar C. Britton, who attended Wabash as a member of the Class of 1915.

George E. Carscallen Prize in Mathematics: Justin R. Grimmer

The George E. Carscallen Prize was named in memory of Professor Carscallen, who taught mathematics at Wabash nearly 40 years, the cash prize is awarded to an outstanding mathematics major in the senior class.

• Thomas A. Cole Biology Alumni Prize: Shane M. Fimbel

The prize is in memory of Thomas A. Cole and his encouragement of research by Wabash graduates. The prize is awarded to a graduate who is involved in further study in the area(s) of biology, environmental science, or medicine.

Harold Q Fuller Prize in Physics: Colin M. McClelland

The Fuller Prize in Physics was established in 1979 by Harold Q Fuller, a 1928 Wabash graduate, the award goes to the junior physics major who is judged by the physics department faculty to be most worthy.

Howell Chemistry Award: Branko Alavanja, Daniel S. Albrecht, Douglas M. Kriech, and Steven D. Rhodes

The Howell Chemistry Award, established in 1948 by former students of Dr. L.B. Howell and his wife, the scholarship is awarded to an upper class chemistry major.

J. Crawford Polley Prize in Mathematical Writing: Gregory A. Schrage

The Polley Award is offered annually by the mathematics department for meritorious work by a student in mathematical writing and problem solving. The prize honors J. Crawford Polley, who was professor of mathematics at Wabash from 1929 to 1966. Work considered for the prize includes short articles and interesting problems with elegant solutions. Entries are judged on their mathematical content and expository style.

Underwood Award in Chemistry: Taylor A. Poor

Established by J.E. Underwood, Jr. in memory of his father, a 1911 Wabash graduate, the Underwood Award is a cash prize that is presented to the junior chemistry major who, in the opinion of the department, is most deserving.

The Student Honors, Awards, and Prizes Chapel is held every year at Wabash to honor students with awards and prizes for their outstanding work they have demonstrated throughout their college years.