Dave & Anne Shane Inducted in Indiana Academy

by Jim Amidon

June 10, 2010

Wabash alumnus David N. Shane was inducted in The Indiana Academy at its 40th anniversary celebration in Indianapolis Monday night. And for the first time in its history, The Indiana Academy inducted a husband and wife tandem; Anne K. Shane was also honored for her extraordinary contributions to higher education in the state.
The Indiana Academy was founded in 1970 by the Independent Colleges of Indiana Foundation. It exists to encourage and promote charitable, scientific, literary, and educational purposes in conjunction with those institutions sponsoring these purposes in the State of Indiana.
Wabash President Patrick White nominated the Shanes for the prestigious honor, and had the opportunity to introduce them at the gala banquet.
“It was my pleasure to introduce Anne and David Shane and pay tribute to their distinctive contributions to the state of Indiana, which make each of them worthy members of the Academy,” President White said. “In honoring them individually we also honor the qualities they share as a couple: a commitment to leadership, a dedication to Indiana, and an engagement in public service that is worthy of note and admiration.“
David Shane, Wabash Class of 1970, is the President, CEO, and board member of LDI, Ltd., LLC holding company and is a former partner in the law firm of Baker and Daniels. A current member of the Indiana State Board of Education and the Wabash College Board of Trustees, he has also served as a senior policy advisor for education and employment to Governor Mitch Daniels; assisted former Indianapolis Mayor Bart Peterson in establishing the Mayor’s Charter School Board; and chaired the K-12 subcommittee of the Indiana Government Efficiency Commission.
Anne Shane is the former Vice President of BioCrossroads, Indiana’s initiative to grow the life sciences through targeted efforts in the areas of workforce development and education, marketing, scientific collaborations, and new business formation. She serves as a trustee for Ivy Tech Community College and as a member of the University of Evansville Board of Visitors; as chair of the Indianapolis Economic Development, Inc.; and as the Indiana region board chair of Teach for America.
An alumna of DePauw University, Anne has recently become Vice President for Strategic Growth Initiatives at Mind Trust, whose mission is to mission to dramatically improve public education for underserved students by empowering education entrepreneurs to develop or expand transformative education initiatives.
“With their shared commitment to education and the development of business, science, and technology, Dave and Anne stand on the cutting edge of the future of Indiana as well as exemplars of the core values and traditions of The Indiana Academy: engaged citizenship, community leadership, and the life of the mind in Indiana,” added President White.
Dave and Anne were among five new members who were inducted into The Indiana Academy at its 40th anniversary dinner and symposium on June 7. Also inducted were Gwyn Richards, Dean of the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, Michael L. Smith, retired Executive Vice President and CFO of Anthem, Inc., and Frank D. Walker, Chairman Emeritus of Walker Information Inc.
Dave has served on the Board of Trustees of Wabash College since 1996, which includes several years as Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee. He currently serves as the Chair of the Board’s Executive Committee.
“On the Board, Dave has been a leader in two strategic planning efforts and continues to be one of the most eloquent voices in advocacy of liberal arts education,” said President White.
Wabash has honored Dave with the Frank W. Misch Alumni Service Award and the David W. Peck Medal for distinguished achievement in the profession of law.
Taking a leave from LDI and from the Wabash College Board of Trustees, Dave served in 2005 and 2006 as Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels' Senior Policy Advisor for Education and Employment, working in the areas of workforce development, higher education, and K-12 education.
Modeled after The French Academy, The Indiana Academy was established to further the development of business, public service, higher education, the arts and sciences, literature, and the general culture of the State through recognition of individual leadership, achievement, and philanthropy designed to promote these ends. The Academy nominates and elects citizens of the State of Indiana to membership in The Academy in recognition of their contributions to cultural, scientific, literary, civic, religious, and educational development within the State.
In the group photo from left: Joe and Charlene Barnette; Marcia and Ted Grossnickle; Dave and Anne Shane; Pat and Chris White.


Wabash College • P.O. Box 352 • Crawfordsville, IN 47933 • 765.361.6100